top of page

Day 1: Travel, travel & more travel

Follow along with me en route to Scandinavia


June 16, 2022

Airplane wing with clouds

5,510 miles. The number that was stuck in my head as I sat in the Tucson International Airport (TUS) waiting for my flight to board. It was early in the morning, meaning the airport was even quieter than it usually was as I was waiting to embark on my 2-week study abroad program.


Without so much of a worry about the fact that I had never really traveled by myself before, taken that long of a flight before, or even really ever left the country, I signed myself up for this trip - I mean the opportunity to study planning in Scandinavia was too good to pass up.


For the first day of my travels (all in airports), my flights took me from Tucson (TUS) to Dallas (DFW) to London (LHR). With a shorter flight the following day - because of the time difference - to Copenhagen (CPH), I was scheduled to arrive the day before my study abroad program officially began to give myself time to get settled and explore a bit on my own.

My flight routet


Tucson International Airport (TUS)

With an early flight departing around 9:30 am, I arrived 2 hours prior seeing how the first leg of my trip was only a domestic flight. With nothing overly noticeable, I spent my time double (and maybe triple) checking my list of things I had packed and got something quick to eat before I was soon Dallas-bound, a flight I had taken on a few occasions.



Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW)

Arriving in Dallas, my bags had luckily been checked through to Copenhagen so I didn’t have to pick them up and re-check them at any point. Switching terminals easily with Skylink, I arrived at my gate just in time, about 10 minutes before boarding started. Without too much time to think about the long flight ahead of me, I wasn’t able to be too worried about it.



London Bound! (DFW - LHR)

On the flight itself, I was glad I had changed my seat the night before from a middle seat to an aisle seat so I could at least attempt to stretch my legs on the 9+ hour flight. With windows being mostly closed the whole flight, there wasn’t much for me to look at, so I spent the majority of the time watching the little airplane icon on the screen move across the globe and listening to music, with “dinner” being served about 4 hours into the flight. While we were flying over Ireland, breakfast was served and before I knew it we were touching down at London Heathrow.



Follow along to Day 2!



Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page